Josée Charbonneau completed her studies from the Cégep du Vieux Montréal in 1976 with a Degree in Graphic Design. In 2007, she became a full member of the Atelier Circulaire printmaking collective. Her main aspiration lies in the transposition of the figurative representation to images imbued with colourism and non-symbolic compositions.

 

Personal Exhibitions (Montreal): Galerie Luz, Montreal, 2018, 2015. Collective Exhibitions: Maison Albert Bruneau, Quebec 2018, -(Montreal) Circular Gallery, 2018, 2013, 2008, Houses of Culture Saint-Antoine sur Richelieu 2017 and Parc- Extension Gallery Luz 2017, 2016 2016, Galerie Luz 2017, 2016, Galerie du Viaduc, 2016, Gallery Circulaire 2013, Collège du Vieux-Montréal 2008. His works were acquired by private and public collectors, included by the Bank National Library of Canada, Gabrielle Roy Library of Quebec and the National Archives of Quebec.

 

Photographic Impressions

 

The artist, Josee Charbonneau, recent photographic experimentation has culminated in a signatory exploration of the potential for abstract colourism, aesthetic beauty and the covergence of both organic and urban compenency.

 

Traditional employment of printmaking techniques have lent the artist a visceral employment of material processes and a visual dexterity which affords her creations with minitiae while her own creative impetus adheres to innate evocations that transpose upon the objects of her focal research in creation.

 

With "Odyssey", we witness an exhibition as much a return as a departure, an aesthetic sojourn which demarcates her emphasis upon the question of beauty amid the mundane tedium of life and predominant conceptualism and theoretical pretexts of contemporary visual practices.

 

In effect, she has initiated an enquiry into the vernacular and non-thinking reflexive discourse of the individual amid a Debordian "Society du Spectacle:, an inverse visual allegorical tale with distinct chapters embodied in singular, unique and visually distinct imagery.

 

Original imagery, reminscient of the lyrical abstraction achieved by Andre Kertesz in the past century, are unadulterated and without alteration, with a latter transfiguration of leitmotif rendered possible as the objective of a painterly experiment remains in her artistic conscience. Vibrant colourism and composition emanate with a visceral abstraction, the tiered processes of Odyssey demarcating that the essential of dynamic tension inherent in visual adventure echo's with the individual frame and context of each successive phase.

 

To paint with a lens appears a paradoxical recourse for an expert of graphic composition and the infinite precision required by the field of print art, yet, bold evocations of the intrinsic beauty of life, the importance of experiment and courage of departure towards an unknown, are well delineated in the large format representations presented, the fruit of a labour wherein the artist crossed a river by feeling the stones at the riverbed.

 

Rajath Suri

Art critic


                                                         

                                                                                

J_edited.jpg

Josée Charbonneau termine ses études en Graphisme au Cégep du Vieux-Montréal en 1976.  En 2007, elle devient membre à part entière du collectif d'ateliers de gravure Atelier Circulaire. Son aspiration principale réside dans la transposition de la représentation figurative vers les images empreint du colorisme et compositions non-symboliques.

Expositions personnelles (Montréal): Galerie Luz, 2019, 2015. Expositions collectives: Maison Albert Bruneau, Québec 2018, - (Montreal) Galerie Circulaire, 2018, 2013, 2008, Maisons de la Culture Saint-Antoine sur Richelieu 2017 et Parc-Extension Galerie Luz Montréal 2017, 2016 2016, Galerie Luz 2017, 2016, Galerie du Viaduc 2016, Galerie Circulaire 2008-2019, Collège du Vieux-Montréal 2008. Ses œuvres ont été acquises par des collectionneurs privés et publics, compris par la Banque Nationale du Canada, Bibliothèque Gabrielle Roy de Québec et les Archives Nationales du Québec.

 

Impressions Photographiques

 

L'artiste, Josée Charbonneau, a récemment mené une expérimentation photographique aboutissant à une exploration signataire du potentiel du colorisme abstrait, de la beauté esthétique et de la complémentarité des compétences tant organiques qu'urbaines.

 

L’emploi traditionnel des techniques de gravure a conféré à l’artiste un emploi viscéral de processus matériels et une dextérité visuelle qui confère à ses créations une minuscule performance, tandis que sa propre impulsion créatrice adhère à des évocations innées qui se transposent dans les objets de sa recherche fondamentale en création.

 

Avec «Odyssée», nous assistons à une exposition aussi bien un retour qu’un départ, un séjour esthétique qui marque l’accent mis sur la question de la beauté dans l’ennui banal de la vie, le conceptualisme prédominant et les prétextes théoriques des pratiques visuelles contemporaines.

 

En fait, elle a ouvert une enquête sur le discours réflexif vernaculaire et non pensant de l'individu au sein d'une «Société du spectacle: debordienne», un conte allégorique à images inversées comportant des chapitres distincts incarnés par une imagerie singulière, unique et visuellement distincte.

 

L’imagerie orginale, rappelant l’abstraction lyrique d’André Kertesz au cours du siècle dernier, sont sans mélange et sans altération, une dernière transfiguration du leitmotiv étant rendue possible, l'objectif d'une expérience picturale demeurant dans sa conscience artistique. Le colorisme et la composition vibrants émanent d'une abstraction viscérale. Les processus à plusieurs niveaux d'Odyssée indiquent que l'essentiel de la tension dynamique inhérente à l'aventure visuelle fait écho au cadre individuel et au contexte de chaque phase successive.

 

Peindre avec une lentille apparaît un recours paradoxal pour un expert en composition graphique et en la précision infinie requise par le domaine de l’art de la gravure. sont bien délimitées dans les représentations grand format présentées, fruit d’un travail au cours duquel l’artiste a traversé une rivière en palpant les pierres sur le lit de la rivière.

Rajath Suri

Critique d'art


                                                         

                                                                                

Copyright © Josée Charbonneau |2021

  • facebook-square
  • Flickr Black Square
  • Twitter Square
  • Pinterest Black Square